*/ DIJ - German Institute for Japanese Studies
Home

About us

Info

Institute

Mission statement

Research on Japan – developing young scholars – disseminating knowledge – building networks

Research on Japan from Japan

Our mission is to enhance knowledge and understanding of modern Japanese society, economy, politics and culture, as well as Japan’s international relations, by applying and advancing methods and theories from both the humanities and the social sciences. Comparative perspectives as well as multi- and interdisciplinary approaches are central to our research activities.

Japan is the focus of our research because of the country’s historic, economic and geopolitical significance. Today, Japan is confronted with the task of finding solutions to social, economic and political challenges – challenges that other countries, including Germany, are also facing. These fundamental transformations tend to happen faster in Japan than elsewhere, causing particularly serious adjustment issues and an urgent pressure to act.

Our local presence facilitates access to primary sources and allows us to directly contact researchers, decision-makers and other actors in Japan. This enables us to investigate complex issues and current developments through our own surveys and field research in a timely manner and on a continuous basis.

Developing young scholars
We place great importance on the qualification and career development of young scholars in the social sciences and humanities specializing in Japan. For a period between two to five years, we offer our in-house senior research fellows the opportunity to initiate and carry out innovative research projects needed to establish themselves in their respective academic fields at an international level. Furthermore, we support doctoral students with residential scholarships that allow them to conduct their research for a period of up to one year at our institute in Tokyo.

Disseminating knowledge about Japan
Based on our research, we share knowledge about Japan not only among experts in academia, but also with decision-makers both in Japan and overseas, as well as with the interested public. We thus aim to promote a better understanding of current developments and pressing issues in Japan, and to contribute to potential approaches and solutions. We disseminate our insights via publications, presentations, events and briefings.

Building networks
Networking and collaborating with researchers and research institutions in Japan and abroad extend the scope of our research, add to the quality and visibility of our work and help our senior research fellows to establish themselves in their respective academic field at an international level. 

Profile

We are a German research institute based in Tokyo. Our institute was founded in 1988 and, in 2002, became part of the Max Weber Foundation – German Humanities Institutes Abroad (DGIA), funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Our research focuses on modern Japan in a global context. We decide our research agenda independently, with the support of our Scientific Advisory Council.

Foundation Council

 

Chairman: Prof. Dr. Heinz Duchhardt

 

Advisory Board

Advisors:

 


© Copyright 2018 DIJ

*/ DIJ - Deutsches Institut für Japanstudien
Home

Über uns

Info

Institut

Unser Leitbild

Forschen - fördern - vermitteln - vernetzen

Vor Ort zu Japan forschen
Unser Ziel ist es, das Wissen über die Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur, sowie über die internationalen Beziehungen des modernen Japans zu erweitern und zu vertiefen. Dies geschieht in der Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung sozial- und geisteswissenschaftlicher Theorien und Methoden. Komparativen Fragestellungen sowie multi- und interdisziplinären Ansätzen kommt dabei eine besondere Bedeutung zu.

Der Fokus auf Japan liegt in der historischen, wirtschaftlichen und geopolitischen Bedeutung des Landes begründet. Zudem sieht sich Japan heute gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Herausforderungen gegenüber, mit denen auch andere entwickelte Industrieländer, nicht zuletzt Deutschland, konfrontiert sind. Die zugrundeliegenden Wandlungsprozesse verlaufen dabei in Japan häufig schneller. Daraus ergeben sich besonders gravierende Anpassungsprobleme und ein sehr hoher Handlungsdruck.

Unsere Präsenz vor Ort erleichtert uns die Erschließung primärer Quellen und eröffnet uns den persönlichen Zugang zu Wissenschaftlern, Entscheidungsträgern wie auch anderen Akteuren in Japan. Komplexe Themen und aktuelle Entwicklungen können wir so durch eigene Erhebungen und Feldforschung zeitnah und kontinuierlich untersuchen.

Wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs fördern
Die Förderung und Weiterqualifizierung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der sozial- und geisteswissenschaftlichen Japanforschung ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen. Wir bieten unseren wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern für einen Zeitraum von zwei bis fünf Jahren die Möglichkeit, anspruchsvolle wie innovative Forschungsprojekte zu konzipieren und durchzuführen und sich so in ihrem jeweiligen Forschungsbereich international zu etablieren. Wir fördern den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs überdies mit einem Stipendienprogramm, das Doktoranden, die zu Japan arbeiten, einen  Forschungsaufenthalt von bis zu einem Jahr vor Ort ermöglicht.

Japanwissen vermitteln
Auf Basis unserer Forschungsergebnisse vermitteln wir in den Fachwissenschaften aber auch Entscheidungsträgern im In- und Ausland sowie der interessierten Öffentlichkeit Wissen über Japan. Wir wollen so zu einem besseren Verständnis aktueller Entwicklungen und Herausforderungen in Japan beitragen und mögliche Lösungsansätze aufzeigen. Hierfür nutzen wir hauseigene wie externe Publikationen, Vorträge, Veranstaltungen und Briefings.

Vernetzen
Die Vernetzung mit Forschern und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen inner- und außerhalb Japans erweitert unsere Forschungsmöglichkeiten, trägt zur Qualität und Sichtbarkeit unserer Arbeit bei und hilft den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sich in ihrem jeweiligen Forschungsbereich international zu etablieren.

Über uns

Wir sind ein deutsches Forschungsinstitut mit Sitz in Tokyo. Unser Institut wurde 1988 gegründet und ist seit 2002 Teil der Max-Weber-Stiftung - Deutsche Geisteswissenschaftliche Institute im Ausland, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung finanziert wird. Unsere Aufgabenstellung umfasst die Erforschung des modernen Japan im globalen Kontext. Die inhaltliche Ausgestaltung des Forschungsauftrags entscheiden wir eigenständig. Unterstützt werden wir dabei von einem wissenschaftlichen Beirat.

Stiftungsrat

Den Vorsitz führt Prof. Dr. Heinz Duchhardt.

Beirat

Mitglieder des Beirats:


© Copyright 2017 DIJ